There is a very popular prayer among Catholics called the “Prayer of St. Francis” after Francis of Assisi.

 

Francis did not write it. It cannot actually be traced back further than 1912. So it’s a little over 100 years old.

 

You’ve probably heard or read it. There are several versions but a common version is as follows:

 

“Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.

Where there is hatred, let me sow love;

Where there is injury, pardon;

Where there is doubt, faith;

Where there is despair, hope;

Where there is darkness, light;

Where there is sadness, joy.

 

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek

To be consoled as to console,

To be understood as to understand,

To be loved as to love;

For it is in giving that we receive;

It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;

It is in dying to self that we are born to eternal life.”

 

As a pacifist, I adore the message. It’s one I’ve read and loved and prayed many times. It resonates with me. It helps to get me out of my own massive ego and to think about others.

 

As such, I see no reason in not using it for my own prayers despite not being the Catholic (or the Christian) that the author of the prayer undoubtedly was. However, I change it a little bit to fit my beliefs. I do not say “Lord” or “Divine Master” but “Goddess” and “Divine Mother”.

 

What prayers have you come across from other religions that you can adapt to your own religious practice?